Even if (especially if?)

Progress is never a straight line.
If you chart where you’ve been and where you are you’ll get a jagged, Himalayan line that reflects in some small way the struggles you’ve seen.

I realized this because I’m in one of the valleys of such a graph.

I recently was at a peak of progress:
A 16 mile hiking adventure in the mountains.
Ready to shape the sheerstrake for my boat.
Shrinking waistline from my dietary changes and workouts.
Consistent writing on my blog.
Completed business plan for a new venture.

And then it all changed.

I started reading a lot (again) and have spent less time writing.
My business partner has been very busy and our progress has stalled.
My shoulder injury is making most exercise difficult and sapping my enthusiasm.
The next step of the boat is the most important line & I’ve been stuck for weeks figuring how to do it beautifully and well.
I don’t have any new adventures on the calendar.

My momentum on the crazyAwesomeHellYeahProjects ground to a dispiriting halt.

What do you do when faced with the challenge of starting again?

You start.

I don’t mean to be glib, but it really is that simple.
You can only ever be doing what you are doing. If you are thinking about starting, or planning to start, or scheming on how to beat the resistance to starting then you aren’t starting.

Just start.

What’s the smallest step you can possibly take to get the ball rolling again?

Take it. Start.

Write that blog post. Even if (especially if?) you’re not sure if it’s good enough.
Develop the minimum economically viable offering for your business. Even if (especially if?) the idea embarrasses you.
Make an appointment with a doctor to find out why you’re in pain. Even if (especially if?) you’re afraid you may need surgery.
Prepare the materials for the boat. Even if (especially if?) you’re afraid you’ll ruin it.
Brainstorm with your children for the next adventure. Even if (especially if?) you’re afraid the ideas won’t be “practical” or “affordable”.

 

What’s the smallest step you can take to advance a goal?

 

Tell me in the comments. Even if (especially if?) you’re afraid to say it out loud.

2 Comments on “Even if (especially if?)”

  1. Zaftig Diva says:

    Thank you for your post. I found you as I linked about the minimalist circuit. From another post, I love that there are hugs to be had.

    I didn’t get the job, so I am starting again, some more.

    I am a serious and avid list maker. I make them at night and again when I wake. I tick off my accomplishments. Sometimes I transfer items, but usually, I accept that each day as its own draw. For me, making the list gets me in line. It is my first step toward any goal.

    Get up. Breathe. Drink coffee. Make list. Regardless of how I feel, there is something I can do.

    I am more than my resume. (Thanks!) I am also more than anything I do. I am.

    • I’m glad I could help.

      I’m very impressed with your ability to let go of the previous day’s list. I seem to find myself hanging on to the undone plans of the day before. Blanking the slate to begin anew sounds scary. I suppose that means I need to try it…


Tell me what you think...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.