Adventure #2 The Unexpected

A random Saturday Morning.
Dreamgirl works from 9-12:30.

Dreamgirl: I’m off work early today. What do you want to do?
Me: Wanna go to Hocking Hills? I think there’s enough time. We can’t do a lot, but we’d at least see where things are if we want to spend more time later.
Dreamgirl: Ok, let’s do it.

Just like that we decided to ditch our many variations on the known and comfortable and drive two hours to a state park we’d never seen.

Apparently that’s how quickly things can change if you let them. We spent a day living on the edge (literally, check out the cliffs…) and establishing brand new boundaries for ourselves and our family.

At the start of our hike to the Rockhouse my kiddos turned to me on the trail and said “Daddy, this can be one of our adventures!”

And so it was…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’ve heard that expectations are planned disappointments.
I think Saturday demonstrated that the opposite may also be true:

The lack of expectations is a plan for delight.

5 Comments on “Adventure #2 The Unexpected”

  1. I grew up in Hocking Hills–I went to high school in Logan!! I love that park–I have so many fond memories of the place. you have a beautiful family!!

  2. […] Adventure #2 The Unexpected […]

  3. […] know my most recent Adventure Post was Adventure #2. There was an Adventure #3 in the mountains of North Carolina and Tennessee but I’ve […]


Tell me what you think...

